The Neighbourhood Pt. 2

mount pleasant 2-24

 

 

 

 

mount pleasant 2-25

 

 

 

 

mount pleasant 2-5-2

 

 

 

 

mount pleasant 2-4-2

 

 

 

 

mount pleasant 2-3-2

 

 
‘He came to the corner now and turned left onto the street. He could see the parking meters that the city had put in and he frowned. For twenty years, he thought, people shopping on the street could park wherever they could find a place, and now the city told them they had to pay. It was not that he resented the money they had to put into the meters; he himself did not own a car. He had had one once, just after the war, but it was too expensive to keep up. He had told his brother, who seemed very glad to see him get one. “What do I need it? I should keep it to say I got a car? Where do I go, Ben? To the park? To the movies? If I should have it, I should need it to drive to business it would be a different story. But two blocks? What do I need it?”’

—–

Some images taken around my neighbourhood, Mount Pleasant.

Text from Stanley Elkin’s A Sound of Distant Thunder, 1957

Leave a comment